The Council of Ministers "governs and executes the internal and foreign policy in conformity with the Constitution and the laws". The Council of Ministers consists of a Prime Minister, deputy prime ministers, and ministers.

The Prime Minister governs and coordinates the general policy of the cabinet and bears the responsibility for it. He/she appoints and dismisses the deputy ministers.

The structure and organization of the Council of Minister's activity and administration are determined by special regulations. The administration is managed by a Chief Secretary, who also controls the budget of the Council of Ministers. Functional departments and services are created, re-organized, and closed down by order of the Prime Minister. The administration drafts prepares for acceptance the cabinet's statutory acts. Currently there are three main functional departments: Legal department, Economy department, Department on European Integration.


1995 411.574 mln. BGL

1996 480.840 mln. BGL (506.120 mln. BGL)

Address: 1 Dondukov Blvd, 1194 Sofia; phone +3592-8501


Members of the Bulgarian government (Elected May 1997)

Mr Ivan Yordanov KOSTOV Prime Minister

Mr Aleksandar Dimov BOZHKOV Vice Prime Minister

Mr Evgeniy Stefanov BAKARDJIEV Vice Prime Minister

Mr Veselin METODIEV Petrov Vice Prime Minister

Mr Bogomil Angelov BONEV Minister of Interior

Mr Muravey Georgiev RADEV Minister of Finance

Mr Aleksandar Dimov BOZHKOV Minister of Industry

Mr Ivan Neykov NEYKOV Minister of Labour and Social Welfare

Mr Petar BOYADZHIEV Minister of Healthcare

Mr Evgeniy Stefanov BAKARDJIEV Minister of State Estates, Urbanisation and Regional Development

Mr Valentin Iliev VASILEV Minister of Trade, Foreign Economic Cooperation and Tourism

Mr Ventsislav VARBANOV Minister of Agriculture

Mr Vilhelm Botyov KRAUS Minister of Transportation

Mr Vasil Stoyanov GOTSEV Minister of Justice and Legal Eurointegration

Mrs Nadezhda Nikolova MIHAYLOVA Minister of Foreign Affairs

Mr Veselin METODIEV Petrov Minister of Science and Education

Mrs Ema MOSKOVA Minister of Culture

Mrs Evdokiya MANEVA Minister of Environment

Mr Georgi Gervanov ANANIEV Minister of Defense

Mr Mario Ivanov TAGARINSKI Minister of Public Administration

Last updated, February 22 1998