Historical notes

Under the Tarnovo Constitution (1879-1946) the National Assembly could function in two forms: Common National Assembly and Grand National Assembly.

The Grand National Assembly is a supreme, specialized legislative institution, possessing the exclusive authority of executing constituent power. Grand National Assemblies have been summoned seven times: in 1879, 1881, 1886-87, 1893, 1911, 1946-49, and 1990-1991. The 1947 Constitution replaced the Common National Assembly with National Assembly.

The National Assembly (NA) is elected for a term of four years, the only exception being the period 1971-1990, when the NA had a five-year mandate determined by the constitution.

According to the 1991 Constitution the National Assembly executes legislative power and parliamentary control. It is elected for a four-year mandate and consists of 240 members. The National Assembly is a permanent institution and has the power to determine the time of plenary sessions. Each newly elected NA has to be summoned by the President no later than a month after its election. The NA can adopt and vote legislative acts only with a majority of members attending the plenary session and voting. No confidence vote could be proposed by less than one fifth of the MPs. The proposal is included in the agenda if voted for by the majority of the MPs.

Since 1990, there have been one Grand National Assembly (7th) and two National Assemblies (36th and 37th) elected.

National Assemblies since 1990

7th Grand National Assembly (June 1990 - Aug. 1991)

36th National Assembly (Oct. 1991-Oct. 1994)

37th National Assembly (Dec. 1994 - Feb. 1997)

38th National Assembly (Apr. 1997)