Who is Who in Bulgarian Politics started as a project in the Center for the Study of Democracy in late 1994.

The project is supported by Open Society Fund-Sofia.

The main aim of the project is to bring more information about Bulgarian politics and Bulgarian political elite. By no means this biographic directory aimes to propagate political ideologies or promote any political party.


Who is Who in Bulgarian Politics is a biographical directory with data on Bulgarian politicians. It contains now more than 420 entries.

The period covered by the directory is December 1994 - February 1997 and includes: President and Vice-President, Prime Minister and Vice-Prime Ministers, Members of Cabinet, Deputy Ministers, Members of Parliament (37th National Assembly), judges in the Constitutional Court, Chair of the Chamber of Accounts, Chairmen of all government agencies, key judiciary officials, local governors, Chairmen and Secretaries General of all important political forces and influential organizations, Mayors of the bigger cities and those influential behind the scenes.

Most of the biographies are based on questionnaires filled out by the politicians themselves. The rest of the data are collected from sources like the Bulgarian Telegraph Agency, national daily and weekly newspapers, publications of the political parties, handbooks etc.

For questions, suggestions or corrections please write to the editor Mr Boyan Gyuzelev.